August 19, 2011
New Law requires California Home Owners to Install Carbon Monoxide Detectors
A new California law that went into effect July 1st, 2011 states that “all single-family homes with a gas, oil or coal-burning appliance, a fireplace or an attached garage are required to have a "carbon monoxide detector”
The new law also provides that multi-unit structures need to comply by January 1st, 2013.
Carbon monoxide is an odorless, colorless gas that in small doses causes flu-like symptoms and many times you don’t know you are breathing in carbon monoxide until it is too late. An average of 40 people a year die in carbon monoxide-related deaths.
Failure to comply with the law could result in a 30-day warning. Failure to heed the warning could result in a fine not to exceed $100 excluding court costs.
How will enforcement be handled?
It will be a new item on a home inspectors checklist when you buy or sell your home. If you have any work on your home that requires a permit, it will be an item the inspector will be checking. It is the home owner’s responsibility to bring their home into compliance before the permit can be signed off.
In case you are wondering state officials are not going to be going house to house to make sure you have complied with the law.
Where is the best place to install them?
You are required to place them just outside the sleeping area in each area of your home. If you have a two story home you are required to have one on each floor.
If you would like to read the entire bill, you can click on this link. It is Senate Bill 183.